Volunteer Oakmonters counted 1897 ballots cast in the 2017 election for four positions on the Board of Directors. The process took about 2 and a half hours.

2022 OVA Board Election

Four seats on the OVA Board of Directors are to be filled in an election starting when ballots are mailed to members in early March. Results of the election will be announced at the 2022 annual meeting on April 4. Nominations can be submitted now.

Board positions at stake are those held by Tom Kendrick, Jeff Neuman, Wayne Van Bockern and Jess Marzak. Because Kendrick, OVA president, is completing his second two-year term, he is not eligible for re-election.

Van Bockern won a one-year term in the last election and is eligible for re-election. Marzak was elected to a two-year term in 2020 and is eligible for another term. Neuman was appointed to a vacant seat and now can seek a full term. None has said whether they plan to run.

Directors whose terms continue are Heidi Klyn, Jeff Young and Mark Randol.

OVA members nominate themselves for the board. Anyone interested in running should send a letter declaring their candidacy, which must be postmarked by Friday, Jan. 28. They should include a candidate profile of up to 300 words and a photo, which will be published in the Oakmont News.

Self-nominations can be emailed to Dawn McFarland at dawn@oakmontvillage.com or dropped off at the OVA office at 6637 Oakmont Drive, Suite A, Santa Rosa, 95409.

A candidate forum will be held Feb. 23. It is expected to be in-person and live-streamed online. At the forum, candidates have time for statements and to answer audience questions.

Voting is by mail, though ballots may be turned in at the annual meeting in the Berger Center on April 4 starting at 10 a.m. Votes are counted there and results are announced at the new board’s organizational meeting, starting at 1 p.m. that day.