Ballots Out for OVA Board Election

            Voting is underway in an Oakmont Board election to fill four of the seven seats on the OVA Board. 

            Ballots were sent to homes on March 2, and are to be returned by mail in advance of Oakmont’s annual meeting on April 4. Each household has one vote, meaning that in homes with more than one OVA member they must agree on which four of the six candidates on the ballot will get their votes.

            The half dozen seeking board seats offered their ideas and answered member questions emailed to a Feb. 23 forum. Those questions covered interests ranging from fire safety to keeping dues affordable and filling the vacant OVA general manager post.

            Incumbent board members running are Jess Marzak, Jeff Neuman and Wayne Van Bockern. Marianne Neufeld, who previously served on the board, is seeking to return. Ken Smith and Iris Harrel are each seeking a first term on the board.

            Tom Kendrick, the board president, is completing his second two-year term, meaning he will leave the board April4 when the new board will vote to fill leadership positions.

            Candidate profiles and photos are published in this edition of the Oakmont News, and also appeared in the Feb. 26 issue.

            Board members whose terms continue are Heidi Klyn, who has been serving as vice president, and Mark Randol, who has been the secretary. The treasurer is a non-voting position, held by Elke Strunka, and is not on the ballot.

            While voting is by mail, ballots may also be turned in at the April 4 annual meeting, starting at 10 a.m. in the Berger Center. The new board will hold an organization meeting that day after ballots are counted and results announced.